The Collaboratory: a makerspace

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

A Collaboratory user works on a robot.The Hillsboro Public Library’s Collaboratory is a space for people of all abilities to explore the possibility of: making art, making science, making crafts, making anything!

Collaboratory Mission, Conduct, and Operations

While families are welcome to explore the space, the Collaboratory is for patrons age 10 and up. Younger makers can attend the Maker Labs at both library locations on Saturday afternoons.

What’s happening in the Collaboratory?

 The Collaboratory will host the following types of events:

Open labs: Check out the space, work on projects, practice skills, and meet makers. Equipment available on a first come, first served basis, but be considerate of others. No formal instruction offered, no registration required.

Meet-ups: Work on projects with like-minded makers and learn from one another. Space dedicated to a particular activity, no registration required.

3D Printing Meet-up – 3rd Thursdays @ 5 pm
Coloring Club – 2nd Thursdays @ 5 pm
Cosplay Meet-up – 2nd and 4th Sundays @ 3 pm
Fabric & Fibers Meet-up – 2nd Saturdays @ 10 am (except for December, see below)
Microcontrollers Meet-up – 4th Mondays @ 5 pm

Classes: Classes taught by experts in a specific skill or craft, some experience helpful, though not required. No project time. Registration required at the Calendar of Events

Self-service: Certified patrons only, no instruction offered. Get certified by registering for a certification session at the Calendar of Events.

Certification sessions: Get certified to use the equipment outside of regularly scheduled events. No project time. Registration required at the Calendar of Events.

Upcoming Classes and Meet -ups:

Date and Time:

Upcoming Classes and Meet-ups
 Learn to Crochet (2 part series)*  Saturday, December 2 & 9 at 12 noon
 World 3D Printing Day  Sunday, December 3 at 1:30 pm
 Holiday Wreaths*   Tuesday, December 5 at 6 pm
 How to Use Copic Markers*  Wednesday, December 6 at 6 pm
 Papercrafting Meet-up  Thursday, December 7 at 5 pm
  Fabric & Fibers Meet-up  Saturday, December 9 at 2 pm (to accommodate Learn to Crochet class)
 Swap Meet  Sunday, December 10 at 1 pm
 Cosplay Meet-up  Sunday, December 10 at 3 pm
 Coloring Club  Thursday, December 14 at 5 pm
 Sew a Holiday Ornament  Tuesday, December 19 at 6 pm
 3D Printing Meet-up  Thursday, December 21 at 5 pm
 Papercrafting Meet-up  Thursday, January 4 at 5 pm
 Make Things Happen -- with an Arduino!*  Saturday, January 6 at 2 pm
 Introduction to Illustration (5 part series)*  Wednesdays, January 10 - February 7 at 6 pm
 Coloring Club  Thursdays, January 11 @ 5 pm
 Fabric & Fibers Meet-up  Saturday, January 13 at 10 am
 Cosplay Meet-up  Sunday, January 14 at 3 pm
 3D Printing Meet-up  Thursday, January 18 at 5 pm
 DIY Cat Castles*  Saturday, January 20 at 2 pm
 Microcontroller Meet-up  Monday, January 22 at 5 pm
 Cosplay Meet-up  Sunday, January 28 at 3 pm
 Papercrafting Meet-up  Thursday, February 1 at 5 pm
 Calligraphy Class*  Saturday, February 3 at 3 pm
 Coloring Club  Thursday, February 8 at 5 pm
 Fabric & Fibers Meet-up  Saturday, February 10 at 10 am
 Cosplay Meet-up  Sunday, February 11 at 3 pm
 Pencil Portrait Drawing (5 part series)*  Tuesdays, February 13 - March 13 at 6 pm
 3D Printing Meet-up  Thursday, February 15 at 5 pm
Beginning Jewelry Making*  Thursday, February 24 at 2 pm
 Cosplay Meet-up  Sunday, February 25 at 3 pm
 Microcontroller Meet-up  Monday, February 26 at 5 pm
 Westside Mini Maker Faire  Saturday, March 17, all day

*Registration required at the Calendar of Events.

See the link to Calendar of Events for details, including the Open Lab Schedule.

 

We have:

  • 3D printers and filament
  • Digital and Manual die cutters
  • Sewing machines and sergers
  • Knitting and crochet supplies 
  • DSLR camera, green screen and light box 
  • Arduinos, Edisons and Makey Makeys  
  • Vinyl heat press
  • Arts and craft tools
  • Computers and graphics software
  • Vinyl heat press
  • Idea and pattern books
  • Practice materials, etc.           

                                                                                                                                                                                                          

You bring:

  • Specialty materials
  • Storage devices
  • Digital files