Library Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
About the Library Board

Meeting Information

 3rd Thursday of each month
Time: 6 pm 
Place: Brookwood Library 
2850 Brookwood Pkwy

Agendas & Minutes

Contact Information:
Stephanie Chase, Library Director

This seven member Board is established by the State of Oregon in ORS §357.465. Members are appointed by the Mayor at the consent of the City Council. The Board meets most often at the Brookwood Library, with meetings occasionally held at the Shute Park Library. 

As provided by ORS §357.490 and Hillsboro Municipal Code subchapter 2.36, the Library Board has the following responsibilities and authority:

  • Serves in an advisory capacity to City Council, formulating rules and policies for the governance of the Library and reviewing Library expenditures for approval and payment;
  • Makes recommendations regarding staffing levels, working conditions and duties of the Library staff, subject to budget limitations and standard City personnel policies and procedures;
  • Reviews and approves all written rules, policies and procedures for operation of the Hillsboro Public Library;
  • Approves an annual budget request;
  • Accepts, acquires, uses, expends or owns, in the name of the City, any real or personal property under the jurisdiction of the Library Board with the approval of the City Council;
  • Selects sites for a Library building and/or location of Library facilities with the ultimate site to be approved by the City Council;
  • Enters into contracts subject to prior approval of the City Council; and
  • Stays informed concerning the role public libraries play as centers for intellectual freedom.

Membership Requirements

While the City remains a member of Washington County Cooperative Library Services (WCCLS), two of the Board members must be residents of unincorporated Washington County.

Members may serve for no more than two full consecutive terms (a term is four years), but anyone may be appointed again to the Board after an interval of one year.  

Current Members

Board  Term Ends
Doug Johnson, Chair June 30, 2018
Albert Stanfield June 30, 2018
Gera Araujo June 30, 2020
Felicita Monteblanco June 30, 2020
Steven Swoboda June 30, 2020
Daniel Nguyen June 30, 2021
Linda Mokler June 30, 2021